Image

Okay, so perhaps the title is a bit of a misnomer, but hey, it sounded catchy. Plus, it’s kind of how I’ve been feeling this past week.

I started back to work this week after a wonderfully busy Spring Break. I didn’t get much running in during the break, and, to be quite frank, I ate more than my fair share’s worth of bad food. I mean, come on, my son is only 2. He doesn’t need ALL of that chocolate, right? Right?

Anyway, this week at work was rather hectic. We have state testing coming up, and I had to get ready for my evaluation. Now, usually when I get back to work from a break I tend to get at least a sore throat from just getting used to speaking so much, but not this week.

No.

I got my customary sore throat, plus some tummy issues and headaches all week. Whether it was due to stress, the bad food, or a combination of the two, only the Sick Fairy knows. (In case you were wondering, she’s the Tooth Fairy’s cousin. She tends to come around during winter but she does make other cameos throughout the year. Such as last week in my house.) 

Anywho, I’m finally coming into the clear of everything, but needless to say,  I did not get to run at all this week.

Very upsetting as you can imagine. BUT! I was inspired to rethink my weight loss plan. See, if you remember, I started running with some profound wisdom from my lovely bride. I still like the idea. I still hold to it every time my foot hits the pavement and every time I want to quit. 

But I just felt like there has to be something more. Some hole that needs to be filled to complete this weight loss puzzle. I think I figured it out, but I don’t quite know how to implement my idea.

And that is where you, my faithful friends, come in!

I’ve decided that I want to include some sort of weight training into my regimen.  But I am in desperate need of some good, and preferably short, weight training programs I can do along with the running. Now, before you get all excited and whip out your Encyclopedia of Awesome Weight Training Stuff, I have a few limitations. 

First: I only have these to work with:

Image

In case you can’t tell, the small weights are 2.5 lbs each, and the large weights are 7.5 lbs each. I can mix and match however I need to, but it is all I have for the moment.

and Second: I don’t have a lot of time. (I know I sound like I’m complaining, but I really am hoping for something that can be done within 30 minutes to an hour.)  I leave for work at 5:30am and return home around 6:00pm. I do my runs around 8:00pm which is after my son goes to bed. I try to do this 3 times a week.

I’m really excited to add something to my routine and I am positive you guys have something that will work for me. Plus, just think of how great you will feel knowing you helped me succeed in my goals. I mean, I can’t think of any compensation better than that. Can you? Yeah, see, didn’t think so. (Shh. Quit throwing out the money card….) Okay what the heck, I might just give you a shout out to add to the amazing feeling you will have. 

 

Or a cookie.

 

Okay, probably not a cookie. Those are unhealthy anyway. . .

