the-next-big-thing1

Thanks to C.B. McCullough for my nomination of “The Next Big Thing” award!

WHAT IS THE TITLE OF YOUR BOOK?

The Awakening

WHAT GENRE DOES YOUR BOOK FALL UNDER?

Fantasy

WHAT IS THE ONE SENTENCE SYNOPSIS OF YOUR BOOK?

An orphan farmer must discover his angelic ancestry and unlock the powerful secrets of his family inheritance to determine the fate of Heaven and Earth.

WHERE DID YOU GET THE IDEA FOR YOUR BOOK?

I was doing a Bible study of Genesis 6 where it talks about Fallen Angels breeding with humans creating the “men of renown,” and I thought the idea of the Nephilim (half human/half angel) was an interesting concept. But I wanted to add to the story, so I took elements from the Book of Revelation mixed it with some elementalism, threw in a dash of Narnia and LOTR, and a pinch of The Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers and came up with a concept for a book series, The Stones of Revenge. Each book follows one of the six main characters who wrestle with being a wielder of one of the Stones of Revenge and the power that comes with it. As their lives intersect they realize that there are powerful forces manipulating the wars and politics of the world’s stage and that they all are at the forefront of it all.

WHO OR WHAT INSPIRED YOU TO WRITE THIS BOOK?

I was sitting in the hospital with my wife waiting for my first son to be born when I realized I wanted to do something to honor him. I had always wanted to be a writer, but nothing truly inspired me enough until that moment. I thought the greatest gift I could give would be to make my son the main character in a novel and hopefully present it to him one day. ( I know rather sappy and cliche, but it’s the truth. ) So, with a pen and some paper that I had brought to lesson plan while she slept, I wrote the first line to my prologue there in that cold hospital room.

HOW LONG DID IT TAKE YOU TO WRITE FIRST DRAFT OF YOUR MANUSCRIPT?

It took me about two years to finish the first draft.Through teaching English to junior high students and raising an infant there was not a lot of time to write.

WHAT OTHER BOOKS WOULD YOU COMPARE THIS STORY WITH IN YOUR GENRE?

I would say that there are many similar elements to the Game of Thrones series. There are also elements of The Way of Kings spattered about. The theme of characters being thrust into an unknown situation and evolving or failing at their task is always reminiscent of Tolkien and Lewis. And I think the last series I would compare it to, though it’s not necessarily in the genre, is The Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers. I find her character connections and plot twists astounding.

WHAT ACTORS WOULD YOU CHOOSE TO PLAY YOUR CHARACTERS IN A MOVIE RENDITION?

Man alive!

If given my wish list I would have to say that any cast would be incomplete without Jeremy Irons, Liam Neeson, and/or either Patrick Stewart or William Shatner. (Life long trekkie, here)

WILL YOUR BOOK BE SELF-PUBLISHED OR REPRESENTED BY AN AGENCY?

I’ve decided to self-publish. I think that indie publishing really is on the verge of replacing the traditional method of publishing. There are just too many benefits to it. It reminds me of when DVDs replaced VHS. I held onto my VHS tapes for years thinking this whole DVD thing was just a trend. Then, when I couldn’t even get a penny from someone brave enough to buy my VHS tapes off of me, I had to spend hundreds of dollars replacing my movie collection. Now, we all sit around and muse about the days when we had to “Be kind, Please rewind.”

WHAT ELSE ABOUT YOUR BOOK MIGHT PIQUE YOUR READERS’ INTEREST?

I have tried very hard to weave multiple layers into the books so that readers might not catch them until the third time re-reading the novels. I really want to catch my readers off guard just enough for them to smile and say, “Oh man! It took me this long to connect those dots? Well played, Justin, well played.”

The free prologue and chapter one is available here, and soon the first full novel should be available to download as an ebook through Smashwords or a paperback through Amazon.
20130428-194402.jpg
I truly hope that you give it a read, and that you enjoy it.

– Justin

MY NOMINATIONS ARE…

aikiwriter

C.H. Griffin

